Sweet Water Staff & Board Members

Janet's staff photo.JPG

Janet Pritchard, Director of Watershed Programs & Policy Coordinator

pritchard @ swwtwater.org

Janet joined Sweet Water as the organization’s Policy Coordinator in June 2017.  Janet earned her law degree from the New York University School of Law in 1996, where she served as Editor-In-Chief for the Review of Law and Social Change and received the Law School’s top graduation prize. An environmental lawyer who has worked on climate change and global deforestation cutting across European, African, and Chinese contexts, she is delighted to return to her home state of Wisconsin to work on local watershed issues. Janet looks forward to bringing her legal analysis, strategic planning, and stakeholder engagement skills to the complex landscape of watershed protection in Wisconsin. 

Jake's Staff Photo.jpg

Jake Fincher, Stormwater Program Manager

fincher @ swwtwater.org

Jake manages Sweet Water’s stormwater program, Respect Our Waters, which includes several initiatives to inform and educate community members about stormwater pollution prevention. He holds a B.S. from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in Integrated Science/Business, with an emphasis on water.  He is extremely grateful to have the opportunity to combine his career and a passion for the outdoors.

Joan Herriges staff photo.JPG

Joan Herriges, Mini-Grant Program Manager

herriges @ swwtwater.org

Joan is the manager of Sweet Water’s Mini-Grant Program. Prior to working at Sweet Water, Joan worked at We Energies in project support in energy efficiency and renewable energy.  On her own time, she initiated the Wisconsin chapter of the Congress for the New Urbanism – a non-profit that advocates sustainable urban development.

Joan graduated from Alverno College with a B.A. in Community Leadership & Development and a minor in Humanities.  She has been active volunteering over the years with several organizations doing river clean-ups and planting trees, shrubs, and native grasses to curb stormwater runoff.


Kristin Schoenecker, Project Assistant

kristin @ swwtwater.org

Kristin is the Project Assistant for Sweet Water. She has a B.A. in Geography from Augustana College. Working for Sweet Water is part of her year of service through Lutheran Volunteer Corps. Kristin is excited to be helping out with Respect Our Waters events and communications, the monthly Watershed Watch newsletter, event planning, and research regarding watershed health issues.


Sweet Water's work is guided by our Board of Directors. Members of the Board represent diverse stakeholders and include leaders of municipalities, businesses, utilities, and nongovernmental organizations. Board members serve three-year terms and meet on a bi-monthly basis. 


  • Joan Giuliani, (Co-Chair), MillerCoors

  • Alyssa Schmitt, (Co-Chair), Stormwater Solutions Engineering, LLC

  • Maureen McBroom, (Vice Chair - Secretary) Ruekert & Mielke, Inc.

  • Nathan S. Brenn, (Vice Chair - Treasurer), Brady Corporation

  • Benjamin Benninghoff (non-voting advisor), Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

  • Jennifer Bolger Breceda, Milwaukee Riverkeeper

  • Brian Depies, Short Elliott Hendrickson, Inc.

  • Elizabeth Hellman, WEC Energy Group

  • Laura Herrick (non-voting advisor), Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission

  • Matthew Howard, Alliance for Water Stewardship - North America

  • Karen Sands, Milwaukee Metropolitan Sewerage District

  • Marian Singer, Wellntel, Inc.

  • Andrew Struck, Ozaukee County